Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instructions for Written Work

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry 

In the bibliography

Author’s surname, Initial(s) of first name(s) or roup author. (Year of publication). Entry title. In Editors initial(s) of first name surname (Ed(s).), Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia (Edition, start page–end page ). Publisher. DOI/URL 

  • If the website is frequently updated, the Retrieved date is included in the reference in the bibliography, such websites include works of reference.
  • Even if the article is available online by login in with SeAMK’s credentials through the databases of the library or other services, The link, or the name of the database, dictionary or encyclopedia is not given in the bibliographic reference.
  • APA 7 instructs to abbreviate long web addresses. This practice has not been adopted by SeAMK. 
     
Stocks, E. L., & Lishner, D. A. (2012). Empathy. In V. S. Ramachandran (Ed.), Encyclopedia of human behavior (2nd ed., Volume 1 A-D, pp. 32–37 ). Academic Press.

Cambridge University Press. (2019). Personality. In Cambridge dictionary. Retrieved  March 21, 2021. https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/personality

 

In text-citation

Stocks and Lishner (2012, p. 35) found

 

(Cambridge University Press, 2019)

Accessibility Statement