Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instructions for Written Work

Thesis

Doctorial dissertation with URN or URL

In the bibliography

Author’s surname, Initial(s) of first name(s). (Year of publication). Title: Subtitle (Serials name number)  [Doctoral dissertation, Name of institution]. Digital archive. DOI/URN/URL

  • The DOI identifier  is given in the form https://doi.org/xxxxx . The URN is given in the http://urn.fi/xxxxx . If the source has no permanent address, the URL address (or the normal web address) is used. 
Joensuu-Salo, S. (2020). Entrepreneurial intention, behavior and entrepreneurship education: A longitudinal approach (Acta Wasaensia 450) [Doctoral dissertation, University of Vaasa]. Osuva. http://urn.fi/URN:ISBN:978-952-476-927-3

 

In text-citations

Joensuu-Salo (2020, pp. 78–81) found...

 

Dissertations or thesis from a database

In the bibliography

Author’s surname, Initial(s) of first name(s). (Year of publication). Title: Subtitle (Series name) [Doctoral dissertation, Name of institution].

  • Name of the database are not included.
Kabir, J. M. (2016). Factors influencing customer satisfaction at a fast food hamburger chain: The relationship between customer satisfaction and customer loyalty (Publication No. 10169573) [Doctoral dissertation, Wilmington University]. 

 

In text-citations

According to Kabir (2016, p. 80)... 

 

Printed doctoral dissertation

In the bibliography 

Author’s surname, Initial(s) of first name(s). (Year of publication). Title: Subtitle. [Doctoral dissertation]. Name of institution. 

Kuokkanen, L. (2003). Nurse empowerment: A model of individual and environmental factors. [Doctoral dissertation]. Turun yliopisto.


In text-citations

According to Kuokkanen (2003, p. 67)

 

Barhelor's or master's thesis with DOI or URN

In the bibliography

Author’s surname, Initial(s) of first name(s). (Year of publication). Title: Subtitle [Barhelors's/Master's thesis, Name of institution]. (Serials name and number). Digital archive. DOI/URN/URL

  • The DOI identifier  is given in the form https://doi.org/xxxxx . The URN is given in the http://urn.fi/xxxxx . If the source has no permanent address, the URL address (or the normal web address) is used. 
Melasalmi, P., & Hellström, T. (2020). Nutrition during pregnancy in Kenya: A focused literature review based on Finland and Kenya [Barhelor’s thesis, Seinäjoki University of Applied Sciences]. Theseus. http://urn.fi/URN:NBN:fi:amk-2020091020323

 

In text-citations

According to Melasalmi and Hellström (2020, pp. 30–31)

Accessibility Statement