E-books

Ellibs

Content

E-books from several subject areas. Mainly in Finnish, a few in English. Collection includes also SeAMK curricular textbooks. More books are constantly being purchased.

Where can I find the e-books?

Ellibs' e-books in English can be found through SeAMK-Finna.The whole collection is available via service's web page (= Library collection)

Usage rights and login info

Students and staff of Seinäjoki University of Applied Sciences. Login with your SeAMK credentials (Haka Login).

Number of simultaneous users

Varies. "Available copies" shows you how many books are available. 

Some e-books have been purchased on a single-loan license (10-50 loans). The number of loans decreases as the books are borrowed. More loans will be purchased if needed.  The library collection includes also e-books with only one simultaneous user / e-book.

You can borrow max. 10 e-books at a time and make reservations on max. 7 e-books. 

Loan periods

1 day (=24 hours) or 7 days. Some course books also offer a shorter 10-minute time slot to explore the book.

Printing

Limited. Printing is not possible when reading the e-book in a web browser. If the e-book has been downloaded to a reader software or an app, the print limits vary from book to book.

Returns, renewals, holds

E-books will be returned automatically but you can return them by yourself as well. You can return books either in Ellibs, or in Thorium Reader by choosing My Books and About this book next to the book cover. Then select Return. You can delete a book from Thorium at the same place.

You can make requests on Ellibs e-books if they are on loan. You cannot renew the e-book you have borrowed. If you would like to have a longer loan period, you must first return the book and then download it again.

You can read an Ellibs e-book online in your computer's browser, which means that you need an internet connection to read it.

1. Search for the book you want on SeAMK-Finna and click on Ellibs. Lainattavissa SeAMK-tunnuksilla – Borrowing by SeAMK credentials. You can also browse e-books purchased by SeAMK directly on the Ellibs website in the Library collection.
2. Log in to Ellibs with your SeAMK credentials.
3. Choose a loan time: 1 or 7 days. For some books, you can choose between 7 days or 10 minutes. If you just want to take a look at the book, please choose 10 minutes!
4. Click on Read online if the option is available. Only e-books in epub format can be read in the browser. Reading in a browser does not require the installing of a software. If the Read online option is not available, the e-book must be downloaded to a dedicated reader. See below for instructions.
5. Log out from Ellibs, when you finish reading the book.
6. When you want to continue reading, login to Ellibs again. You will find the e-book you have borrowed behind the My Bookshelf link.

You can download an Ellibs e-book to to a reader program, which allows you to read e-books even without a continuous network connection (=offline). E-books in PDF format require the use of a reader. They cannot be read in a browser.

There are two options for reading Ellibs e-books on a computer:

• Thorium Reader (LCP DRM-protected books) NB! Ellibs recommends using Thorium Reader.
• Adobe Digital Editions (Adobe DRM-protected books)

Downloading Thorium Reader and reading an e-book

Download (Thorium Reader) option is available for e-books and e-audiobooks, which support this solution. All materials may not yet be compatible with the new reader.

1. Download a free Thorium Reader on your device. It is available for Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems.
2. Search for the book you want on SeAMK-Finna and click on Ellibs. Lainattavissa SeAMK-tunnuksilla – Borrowing by SeAMK credentials. You can also browse e-books purchased by SeAMK directly on the Ellibs website in the Library collection.
3. Log in to Ellibs with your SeAMK credentials.
4. Check your user-specific password on Ellibs under My Bookshelf. Copy the password.
5. Choose a loan time: 1 or 7 days. For some books, you can choose between 7 days or 10 minutes. If you just want to take a look at the book, please choose 10 minutes!
6. Click on Download (Thorium Reader). The download requires that you have Thorium Reader installed on your computer.
7. Enter you LCP password when prompted.
8. Open the file which is sent to your device in Thorium Reader. The program will open two windows: My Books and the window of the e-book you just downloaded.
9. In the future, you will be able to find the e-book in Thorium Reader. You can continue reading the book there.

Video: Opening an Ellibs book in Thorium Reader

Downloading Adobe Digital Editions Reader and reading an e-book

1. Download a free Adobe Digital Editions Reader on your device, if it is not yet downloaded to your computer. You can check it by clicking on the Start menu on your Windows computer and start typing the name of the program. Instructions on how to install and authorize Adobe Digital Editions can be found for example on the Ebsco website.
2. Search for the book you want on SeAMK-Finna and click on Ellibs. Lainattavissa SeAMK-tunnuksilla – Borrowing by SeAMK credentials. You can also browse e-books purchased by SeAMK directly on the Ellibs website in the Library collection.
3. Log in to Ellibs with your SeAMK credentials.
4. Choose a loan time: 1 or 7 days. For some books, you can choose between 7 days or 10 minutes. If you just want to take a look at the book, please choose 10 minutes!
5. Click on Download (Digital Editions). The download requires that you have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer.
6. Open the file which was sent to your device in Adobe Digital Editions.
7. The book downloads and opens in the reader. Be patient, it may take a while.
8. In the future, you will be able to find the e-book in Adobe Digital Editions Reader. You can continue reading the book there.
9. NB! If you already haveAdobe Digital Editions reader downloaded on your computer, you can activate it from the Help menu (Adobe Digital Editions) Authorize Computer. You will need an Adobe account ID to do this. You can register it on Adobe's web pages. (= the email address you used when you created your My Adobe account).

There is an Ellibs app available for iOS and Android devices:

• Android devices

• iOS devices

Download the app and log into the SeAMK Ellibs Library by using your SeAMK account.

You can browse the collection, borrow and request for e-books. To read the e-books, you'll only need the app, even offline.

E-books can be borrowed with most of the e-reader devices currently available in the market.

Read more about supported devices on Ellibs web pages.

• Readerhelp - What is your e-reading device?
• Instructions how to use Ellibs service

Permitted and prohibited use

User rights and remote access