How to use the library

Are you studying in the University Consortium of Seinäjoki?

The SeAMK Library provides services for the students and staff of the University Consortium of Seinäjoki.

The University Consortium of Seinäjoki is a networked community of 80 multidisciplinary experts from four Finnish universities. The University Consortium is formed by Tampere University, the University of Helsinki, the University of Vaasa and the University of the Arts Helsinki. Our partners include the University of Turku and the University Association of South Ostrobothnia (Epky).

SeAMK Library is situated on the 0 floor of Kampustalo at the address Kalevankatu 35. Library's main entrance C0 is located opposite the Tornitalo students’ apartments.

During semesters, library is open Monday-Friday from 9 am. to 5 pm. (self-service hours 9-10 am.). During self-service hours, the staff is not present at the information desk. Customer service is available from 10 am to 5 pm. There are exceptions in library’s opening hours due to several reasons. For example, there are limited opening hours on eves of midweek holidays, on weeks 9 ja 42, in June-August and between Christmas and Epiphany. Valid daily opening hours can be found on SeAMK-Finna’s web page

This library guide provides general instructions on how to use the SeAMK Library.

Library card and borrowing printed books

• The SeAMK Library is an academic library open to all. Everyone can get a library card at the SeAMK Library. A library card is necessary for borrowing printed books.
  • Please fill in the online library card application form in advance.
  • You will receive an email notification when you can come to pick up your library card at the library's information desk.
  • Please take your ID with you and check the opening hours beforehand on library's search service SeAMK-Finna.

SeAMK-Finna search service

• You can search for both printed and electronic books, journals and other materials by using the SeAMK-Finna search service. SeAMK-Finna is freely available online. You can also use SeAMK-Finna to reserve books and renew your loans.
• Instructions and videos for using SeAMK-Finna

Reserving books and renewing loans on SeAMK-Finna

• You can make book reservations by yourself on SeAMK-Finna. You will receive an email notification when you can come to pick up the book you have reserved. You will find the reserved books in the book trolleys according to your library card number. Please remember to check out the books at the self-service lending machine.
• You can extend the loan period by renewing your books on SeAMK-Finna. You cannot renew loans if other patrons have reservations for them.
• Reservations and renewals require a login to SeAMK-Finna.
• Students and staff of the University Consortium can create a Finna account for themselves. Or they can order a single-use login link to their email. The email address must be the one saved in the patron records in the library system. SeAMK-Finna will send a link to the email address provided by the patron, which will be valid for a limited period of time. The link must be opened on the same device and with the same browser as the one used to order it. No password or PIN code is required.

Electronic books, journals and databases

• SeAMK Library's e-resources are generally only available to students and staff of SeAMK, but some can be used on-site at the library.
• You should primarily use the electronic resources of your own university. University libraries offer a wider range of e-resources than SeAMK Library. You can also access university e-resources from home. Log in to remote access with your own university ID.
• We recommend that you start your information search by using the search services of your own university library.
  • Tampere University Library
    • Search the library's printed and electronic books, journals, articles, etc. on Andor search service.
    • Browse the library's databases by using the database list.
    • Check out the library guides.
  • University of Vaasa – Tritonia Academic Library
    • Search the library's electronic resources and printed books, journals, articles, etc. on Tritonia-Finna search service.
    • Browse the library's databases by using the database list.
    • Check out the library guides.
  • Uniarts Helsinki Library
    • Search the library’s printed and electronic books, journal, articles etc. on Arsca search service.
    • Browse the library’s databases by using the database list.
    • Check out the library’s research guides.

Tapio-Sali and Electronic Examination Service (EXAM)

• During semesters, the Campus House (Kampustalo) is accessible through C0 door Mon-Fri from 7.30-18.00 for studying, picking up reserved books and returning loans. There are exceptions in library’s opening hours due to several reasons. For example, there are limited opening hours on eves of midweek holidays, on weeks 9 ja 42, in June-August and between Christmas and Epiphany. Valid daily opening hours can be found on SeAMK-Finna’s web page.
• Students from other universities can take electronic exams in the EXAM room in Campus House (Kampustalo). Please read the instructions for EXAM visits carefully.

Tuni Exam Service

• Exams arranged by Tampere University can also be taken electronically at the University Consortium of Seinäjoki. The Tuni Exam service is intended for degree students at Tampere University as well as open university students only. Instructions available here: University Consortium of Seinäjoki | TUNI EXAM | Tampere Universities

Book an Information Specialist

The Book an Information Specialist service offers guidance on finding information sources, for example for your thesis. The service is chargeable for people other than SeAMK students and staff. The cost is 60€ per hour (incl. VAT 25,5%).

FAQ and chat service

On our FAQ page you will find answers to frequently asked questions. We also offer a chat service. When the chat is closed, answers can be found through the chatbot. You can also send us a message and we will reply during library opening hours.