Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to use e-resources

Information about library's electronic resources and instructions how to use them.

Using e-resources in teaching

We recommend library's e-resources to all teachers at SeAMK. E-books, e-journals, articles and databases can be used for teaching purposes by linking them in learning management systems and electronic learning materials.


We advice linking e-resources via SeAMK-Finna. Below you can find instructions on that.


The way how linking is done varies from e-resource to e-resource. Avoid copying the URL directly from the address bar of the browser. Links can also change in time so one should favour so called permalinks. Students should also be able to access e-resources from their home computers and mobile devices, for example open an e-book or article wherever they are. Therefore, links must work via remote access as well. Don't forget to test the link!

E-resources are available for students and staff of the university through Seinäjoki University of Applied Sciences computer network or through remote use. Log in with you SeAMK credentials.

According to licence agreements, it is permitted to provide links for example via Moodle to e-resources mentioned below.

RECOMMENDATION: Linking to SeAMK-Finna

SeAMK-Finna search service includes library's printed and electronic materials. You can make links to them on SeAMK-Finna. Via the link students can check the availability of the book/journal/article and get access straight to the e-book, e-journal or e-article.

  1. Start by seaching material on a certain subject area or search for a particular book in SeAMK-Finna.
  2. Copy the URL directly from the address bar of the browser.
    E.g. https://seamk.finna.fi/Record/seamk.991239126005969 or https://seamk.finna.fi/Record/seamk_electronic.991229858605969
  3. Add the link to Moodle.
  4. Link will take to the availability or search results page.SeAMK-Finna logo.

You can also make links directly to the search result, for example to books on certain subject area. Alternatively, log in to SeAMK-Finna and create public favourite lists and share them with others.

How to link an e-resource to Moodle

  1. Log in to Moodle. Open the course and turn editing on.
  2. Click Add an activity or resource. Choose URL and Add.
  3. Type a name for the resource, e.g. source. NB! Some e-resources require that source is mentioned.
    E.g. Author. Year. Title. [Article in e-journal]. Journal title. Volume (Issue), pages. [Reference date 10.8.2016]. Available in the Name of the database database. Registration required.
  4. Add the URL to External URL box.
  5. Choose New window under Appearance.
  6. Save.

Linking e-books

  1. Search the article you want to link to.
  2. Copy the url from the browser's address bar. NB! The right address can be seen inside SeAMK computer network.
    E.g. http://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/56008
  3. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=

Example: https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/56008

Permitted and prohibited use. Information in English at the end of the page.

NB! Each link shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner.

RECOMMENDATION: Make the link via SeAMK-Finna. The link works via remote access, as well. Instructions above.


OPTION: Straight link to Ebsco

NB! This link can only be made inside the SeAMK computer network.

  1. Search the e-book you want to link to on Ebsco.
  2. Open the e-book by clicking the title. You'll get to the detailed record of the book.
  3. Click the Permalink icon on the menu right. The permanent address will be displayed on the top of the screen.
  4. Copy the url.
  5. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=


Example:
https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xww&AN=748500&site=ehost-live&scope=site

RECOMMENDATION: Make the link via SeAMK-Finna. The link works via remote access, as well. Instructions above.


Option: Straight link to Knovel

  1. Login to Knovel with your credentials. If you don't have a Knovel account yet, you can create one under Welcome Seinäjoki University...  drop-down menu. Choose Create Account.
  2. Search the ebook you want to link to.
  3. Click on the title of the book.
  4. Click Share below the title and description.
  5. Copy the url, for example
    https://app.knovel.com/web/toc.v/cid:kpFSCMLFF1/viewerType:toc/root_slug:food-supply-chain-management/url_slug:food-supply-chain-management
  6. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=

Example: https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://app.knovel.com/web/toc.v/cid:kpFSCMLFF1/viewerType:toc/root_slug:food-supply-chain-management/url_slug:food-supply-chain-management

Permitted and prohibited use. Information in English at the end of the page.

NB! Each link shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner.

RECOMMENDATION: Make the link via SeAMK-Finna. The link works via remote access, as well. Instructions above.


OPTION: Straight link to Ebook Central

NB! This link can only be made inside the SeAMK computer network.

  1. Search the e-book you want to link to on Ebook Central.
  2. Open the e-book by clicking the title.
  3. Click Share Link to Book on the menu left. Copy the link.
  4. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=

Example: https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/seamkebrary-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4186656

Permitted and prohibited use. Information in English at the end of the page.

Linking articles and e-journals

  1. Search the article you want to link to.
  2. Click on the Abstract/Details tab.
  3. Next to Document URL you'll find the URL of the article. Copy the address.

 Example: https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.libts.seamk.fi/docview/1545982405?accountid=27298

Permitted and prohibited use​. Information in English at the end of the page.

NB! Each link shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner.

Following Ebsco resources are available for students and staff at SeAMK

NB! It is not permitted to use Harvard Business Review for teaching purposes. You are allowed to use articles for personal use only. Therefore, teachers cannot use Harvard Business Review's articles in teaching and make links to them in learning management systems and electronic learning materials. In addition select articles in Harvard Business Review are read-only.

NB! These links can only be made inside the SeAMK computer network.

Linking an article:

  1. Search the article you want to link to.
  2. Click on the title of the article. The full text of the article opens either in html or pdf format.
  3. You'll find the Permalink icon on the menu right. Click on it. The url of the article will appear on the top of the display.
  4. Highlight and copy the url.
  5. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url http://libts.seamk.fi:2048/login?url=

Example: http://libts.seamk.fi:2048/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsh&AN=113614491&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Linking a journal:

  1. Search the journal you want to link to. Use Publications list on the top menu.
  2. Click on the title of the journal. You'll get to the publication details.
  3. Choose Share on the right. Click on the url under Use Permalink. Highlight and copy the url.
  4. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=

Example: https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=afh&jid=LIJ&site=ehost-live

Linking an issue:

  1. Search the journal you want to link to. Use Publications list on the top menu.
  2. Click on the title of the journal. You'll get to the publication details.
  3. You'll find all issues of the journal on the right. Open all issues by clicking + icon. Choose the issue you want to link to by clicking on it. The first articles will appear.
  4. Choose Share on the right. Click on the url under Use Permalink. Highlight and copy the url.
  5. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=

Example: https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=afh&bquery=JN+%26quot%3bLibrary+Journal%26quot%3b+AND+DT+20160701&type=1&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Permitted and prohibited use. Information in English under each resource at the end of the page.

  1. Search the article you want to link to.
  2. Click on View summary and detail.
  3. Under Details you'll find article's digital object identifier, that is the DOI number which provides a persistent link to the article. Copy the url, for example http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/LHTN-10-2016-0052.
  4. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url http://libts.seamk.fi:2048/login?url=
  5. Link will open article's abstract. The page also includes article's html and/or pdf versions.

Example: https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://dx.doi.org/10.1108/00070700010362176

Permitted and prohibited use. Information in English at the end of the page.

NB! Each link shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner.

  1. Search the article you want to link to.
  2. Click on the Abstract link in the search results list.
  3. Under the link Article Information you'll find article's digital object identifier, that is its DOI number which provides a persistent link to the article. Copy the URL. E.g. https://doi.org/10.1177/0969733011398098
  4. Add the SeAMK Ezproxy prefix to the front of the copied url http://libts.seamk.fi:2048/login?url=
  5. Link will open article's abstract. The page also includes article's pdf version.

Example: https://libts.seamk.fi/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1177/0969733011398098

Permitted and prohibited use. Information in English at the end of the page.

NB! Each link shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner.

Linking an e-resource

If you want to create a link to a particular database or e-resource, you can copy the link either from SeAMK-Finna or from E-library. Don't try to search it with Google - there is a fixed url address available for the users at SeAMK.

Link to SeAMK-Finna

  1. Search the e-resource from SeAMK-Finna's database list.
  2. Click the title of the e-resource, e.g. Cinahl with Full Text.
  3. Copy the url from the address bar of the browser., e.g. https://seamk.finna.fi/Record/seamk_electronic.991115846805969
  4. Tell your students to click Database interface link.
  5. Link works also through remote access.

Link to e-library

  1. Choose the e-resource from the e-library.
  2. Copy link location by right-clicking on it.
    E.g. https://seamk.libguides.com/ebscoebook
  3. Link works also through remote access.

User rights

The user rights of e-resources are specified in licence agreements. Normally, you may only use e-resources for the purposes of education, teaching, research and private study. Any commercial use is strictly prohibited.

Detailed information about usage rights can be found on FinELib pages. Permitted and prohibited use are explained under each e-resource. First choose a resource by name. Information in English at the end of each page.

Accessibility Statement